Believe it or not, I think this would be a potent political strategy

Piggy-backing on Jon Gabriel’s ‘Skepticism, Yes. Cynicism, No.’

Jon Gabriel

Jon nails it on this one. I agree with every syllable of it.

Mr. Gabriel is not thrilled with the mockery and over-the-top “critiques” that lately have been greeting every announcement by a Republican candidate.

You really need to read the whole thing to get his context, but this is my favorite takeaway, that I think perfectly defines the difference between healthy skepticism and toxic cynicism:

Jon Gabriel, Ricochet: Skepticism, Yes. Cynicism, No.

A conservative understands that skepticism, especially when dealing with politicians, is wise. We should vet candidates, test their assumptions, and look at their results. All of this is beneficial.

Cynicism, however, is self-defeating. The cynic dismisses every candidate as a corrupt fraud from the start, assumes each promise is a lie, and has given up hope. This pose might impress a few jaded souls online or sullen teens at the local food court, but it repels voters and chokes the soul.

Jon goes on to describe the good qualities of all the candidates.

Which makes me wonder why we don’t ALL do that?

The other day, I posed a thought to one of my Twitter friends:

Which is funny, because Jon cited a Ted Cruz response to Rand Paul’s announcement that I’d missed:

Instead of cynicism and contempt, Cruz took a different tack with Rand’s announcement:

“I am glad to welcome my friend Rand Paul into the 2016 GOP primary. Rand is a good friend, and we have worked side by side on many issues. I respect his talent, his passion, and the work he has done for Kentuckians and Americans in the U.S. Senate. His entry into the race will no doubt raise the bar of competition, help make us all stronger, and ultimately ensure that the GOP nominee is equipped to beat Hillary Clinton and to take back the White House for Republicans in 2016.”

There’s enough time for sharp elbows once the primaries begin in earnest. At this stage, let’s sit back and marvel at the deep bench of talent the GOP will offer in 2016.

Unlike Democrats, who have the media wind at their backs, Republicans have to be stewards of every word we speak for and against issues and candidates.

We cannot afford to provide ammunition to the enemy.

Here’s hoping Jon’s preaching converts the choir.

Update

Since I don’t know whether I’ll be able to get back to this, here are some tweets where I lay out my thinking here:

Leave a Reply

